Miso-Lime Noodle Bowl with Shiitakes and Bok Choy

noodles

Isn’t it weird how you get in certain habits with food? You find yourself eating the same breakfast, going to the same coffee shop or reaching for chocolate at the same time each day (I don’t know about you, but it happens at around 3pm for me.) While I consider myself a fairly adventurous eater and cook, I have my old standbys. I will never turn down a trip to Westville. I eat Greek yogurt almost every day. And kale? I still can’t get enough of it. I’m a creature of {healthy} habits.

Sometimes, I feel the urge to break out of  my comfort zone. Why not start with dinner? Pasta is a major go-to for me and many of my personal chef clients. After a long day of work, it’s just the thing. While I love an Italian pasta carbonara, Asian noodle dishes are becoming a new habit for me these days. The trick? I keep a few key staples around. Scallions, ginger and garlic are the starting point for countless noodle variations. Invest in a container of good miso, a bottle of tamari or soy sauce and some type of hot sauce or chile paste. Chances are you’ve made a stir fry before. See? You’re already halfway outside the box.

Miso-Lime Noodle Bowl with Shiitakes and Bok Choy

Serves 1-2

1 nest instant rice vermicelli or soba noodles*
1 teaspoon vegetable or coconut oil
2 scallions, finely sliced, white and green parts separated
1/2 tablespoon finely chopped fresh ginger
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
5 shiitake mushrooms, stemmed and sliced
2 heads baby bok choy, chopped
Miso-Lime Sauce
2 teaspoons white miso
1 teaspoon tamari
1/2 lime, juiced
Gochujang* to taste (or another hot sauce/paste)
Sesame seeds and Korean chile flakes, for garnish (optional)

If you are using instant rice noodles, place a nest/bundle of noodles in a bowl, cover with boiling water and a plate or lid and set aside. If you are using soba or another type of noodle, boil according to package directions.

Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, heat oil. Add white part of scallion, ginger and garlic. Cook, stirring, until fragrant (be careful not to burn the garlic.) Add the shiitakes and cook, stirring, until lightly browned, about 5 minutes. Add the bok choy and cook until wilted, another few minutes. Add a couple drops of water or stock if the veggies start to stick. In a small bowl, combine the miso, tamari, lime juice and hot sauce/paste of choice, to taste. Drain your noodles and add them to the veggie mixture, along with the sauce. Toss to combine. Serve with green scallions, sesame seeds, Korean chile flakes or hot sauce and a squeeze of lime juice.

*Look for rice vermicelli noodles in the Asian section of the grocery store. You can sub in any type of noodle you prefer (I use buckwheat soba a lot).

*Gochujang is a fermented Korean chile paste . It has a nice balance of heat and a bit of sweetness.

Leave a Reply

