Stuff I Like This Week

Quick and simple this week!

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips, approx. $10/set

I had a very small window between Corporate America and Culinary School where these drugstore nail strips were appropriate.  Similar to pricy salon “gel” nails,  these act like thin, decal-like stickers that are chip-less for days and days (the package claims 10, but I only made it to 7 before I had to attack them with acetone).

Exit Through the Gift Shop, directed by Banksy

An original Banksy piece in Dumbo, Brooklyn, just miles from my apartment (!)

 

Street art has fascinated me since studying in Europe for the first time and more recently, seeing the immaculate work in Buenos Aires. I love the stencil-style made popular by phantom street art extraordinaire, Banksy. This Oscar-nominated documentary, directed by Banksy himself, tells the story from an outsider’s perspective (with a few major twists!) Truly a wonderful film.

NYC Greek Deli Ceramic Coffee Cup, $14 at Urban Outfitters

On a cold midtown morning, nothing beat a cup of street cart coffee. Eighty-five cents bought me 8- ounces of New York lore and a little Breakfast at Tiffany’s moment as I paused to check out the goods on 5th Avenue. I’ve seen this cup at The Tenement Museum gift shop and now, what do you know, Urban Outfitters carries it, too. Bagel and schmear optional.

Leave a Reply

