Big News

So I’ve been putting off divulging the news for some time now – even some of my closest friends have been out of the loop! It’s been years in the making, a labor of love and one hell of an adventure so here goes….

I officially enrolled in culinary school.

In late March I will begin a 6-month full-time Culinary Arts program at The Institute of Culinary Education (ICE) in New York City. The program runs weekday mornings, leaving time for a part-time gig (a girl’s gotta pay the bills!) Come Fall, I will cap off my studies with a 6-week-long externship.

What first sold me on ICE was the general vibe from the chef instructors and students; I could really see myself there. I had a similar feeling back in 2005 when I made the decision to attend Marist College and I’m glad I trusted my instincts – it was good choice!

A lot of people have asked me what I plan on doing with my culinary degree. My friends can attest that I always have ideas simmering away on the back burner. As my studies progress, I plan to use this blog more and more as a platform for “what’s next”- so sit tight!

The last few weeks have been a whirlwind. One constant: the overwhelming support from my family and friends. These days, the line between these two groups has blurred. However, I am certain that I could not have made this decision without their insight, advice and most of all, genuine happiness for what I am doing with my life. You know who you are, and it means the world.

I also want to thank YOU, the readers of this brokeback blog, for reading each week. You give me a reason to cook dinner!

In the words of the illustrious Julia Chid, bon appetit!

3 thoughts on “Big News

  1. I’ve said it a million times, but I’m so, so excited for you! Not many people use the trapdoor on the corporate stage; they forget it’s there. I’m glad you let yourself fall through it 🙂

  2. Pingback: Last Day | A Girl's Gotta Eat

Leave a Reply

