Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes

Truth: breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I don’t believe I have ever posted a breakfast recipe, mostly because my usual morning meal consists of an oatmeal-toast-fruit rotation. From crunchy fruit parfaits to omelettes and waffles, I haven’t met a breakfast I didn’t like. Afterall, it’s the most important meal of the day!

These pancakes are the real deal. I upped the nutrition with ‘white’ whole wheat flour  (less dense than straight whole wheat) and tangy buttermilk. Unlike it’s moneker, buttermilk is naturally low in fat and adds a rich texture. I have to admit that these require a bit more effort than, say, dumping Bisquick in a bowl. I had to increase the amount of liquid because my batter was really thick – I just added a few tablespoons of water and buttermilk to thin it out. Butter and syrup are required!

I used this BHG recipe.

Leave a Reply

