Dinner Party!

It all started with a meatloaf.

Yes, this is a bit ironic considering I forgo meat, but hear me out.

Last weekend my roommate fixed an absolutely delicious southern Sunday supper, including an outstanding vegetarian meatloaf using soy crumbles. I often shy away from cooking with fake meat, but sometimes you just need some meatloaf.

Enter: Halloween Dinner Party 2010

I decided to tackle a dinner party. With a little (ok, a lot) of prep, the meal was pretty painless to assemble. I made the cake in the morning while chopping up most of the veggies (sooo many onions!)

My Halloween dinner  consisted of good ol’ fashioned recipes “dressed up” with some modern touches. In all the recipes, I substituted vegetable stock for chicken stock. May I just say that fresh herbs are amazing? They may cost a bit more than dried, but the flavor is simply unmatched. I purchased sage and thyme from my favorite green grocer (Green Pea on Atlantic Ave) for $1.50 each. Such a great deal…but I digress.

In honor of the day, I went all the way with the 60’s theme with a very domestic cupcake-print apron and kicky red heels.

Now on to the food!

The menu:

Veggie Meatloaf with Paula Deen’s Glaze (recipe below)

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Thyme

Mashed Potatoes and Parsnips with Caramelized Onions and Blue Cheese

Mushroom Gravy

Green Peas with Sage

Fresh Sourdough Bread (courtesy of my sister)

Homemade Pineapple Upside Down Cake

 

 

Veggie “Meatloaf” with Paula Deen’s Glaze

Ingredients

  • 2 lb. Gimme Lean ground beef style
  • 1 large sweet potato, cooked, skin removed and mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c. oatmeal
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp. honey mustard
  • Salt and pepper

For Glaze:

Mix together:
2/3 cup ketchup
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
2 teaspoons packed light brown sugar

Directions for Meatloaf:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Combine all ingredients in a bowl.
  • Spray glass or ceramic baking dish with cooking spray and place meat mixture in pan. Cover with glaze.
  • Cook for approximately one hour.

-Recipe adapted from PB Fingers

 

Leave a Reply

