Food for Thought

As a card-carrying NYC subway rider, I have perfected the art of the productive commute. From listening to Italian language tutorials on my iPod to catching up on my latest read, I am (almost) thankful for my 80 minutes a day of uninterrupted time. Lately, I have breezed through books, as I am a recent patron of both the Brooklyn and New York City Public Libraries. While I’m a sucker for Jen Lancaster and Bill Bryson for my commute, I have a few foodie picks that are perfect with a cappuccino at the corner café or riding the tunnels on the F.

In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan

“Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.” Wise words from a wise man. This book could change the way you think about food.

Eat, Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

I read this just before I lived in Italy for 4 months. Warning: your mouth will water! Can’t wait for the film adaptation with Julia Roberts!

Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes

Forget what you think of the movie. This book details author Frances Mayes’ path to la dolce vita by way of an old, renovated Tuscan farmhouse…with recipes to boot!

Bella Tuscany by Frances Mayes

A continuation of Under the Tuscan Sun. Now settled in Tuscany, Mayes waxes poetic on Italian life. I particularly enjoyed her raw description of Sicily.

And currently reading…

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

The author and her family move from Arizona to the Appalachians to live off the land for a year. Lots of interesting facts and statistics thrown in with personal anecdotes. While I don’t own a spot of land, I do daydream about growning my food one day. I will recap my last thoughts as soon as I finish!

One thought on “Food for Thought

Leave a Reply

